For the project and it’s production to be a success I have to plan everything ahead of time and especially before production begins. Here I have produced several documents which help plan out the layout, timing, agendas and other factors depending on the production. These include Location research, health and safety and planned shooting times.

 

I a location recce which I found has provided me further research on my desired location, necessary research that helps make sure the location is right for me and if it’s available for shooting

Location Recce

For my film’s location to ensure that it is actually possible to film there and produce what I want I did some further research. To do this I produce a location recce which includes information which is used to decide whether the location is suitable for shooting at.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This is the location recce for my location which is a bedroom. For the information that wasn’t required I simply put not applicable in the section. I found that producing this document has helped me with deciding on my location and whether it would be better to change it or not. I feel that this location will work well in my film. I already have permission to film here as the room  belongs to a relative who has given me permission to shoot here.

 

 

Call Sheet

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Although I didn’t necessarily need a call sheet I think that it’s an important thing to know how to produce seeing as I want to work in the film industry in the future. I filled out a call sheet including contact information for my crew and cast. Also including call time. In the second part I have put about the details on the transport method my assistant will be taking to get to me from London. This was planned prior and so is solid and confirmed.

 

Production Budget

Due to this being a student production I am not really on a set budget as I don’t have the necessary funding to support one. Although I think that its important to know how to produce a production schedule and get experience in producing one of these documents.

Production Budget

This is a theoretical Production Budget which I have produced to realistic prices to develop my skill and understanding of how to produce a production schedule. In this I have researched about how much it would cost to hire crew and cast members at a slightly more professional level for if my film was actually on a decent budget of around ten thousand pounds.

 

Permission for use

This isn’t something that I should be majorly concerned about as this is a non-profiting student production. I think that being aware of copyright and permission is useful to have in the film industry. I still went out of my way to get permission for the ambient sound that I want to use in my production as I feel that this is a practical way of really gaining some experience in this field of research.

cryo-chamber

I had contacted a YouTuber who made an ambient track that I wanted to use when planning my Extended Project’s sound material. I found a video I liked and ask for permission. The YouTuber/publisher called Cryo Chamber replied to my request saying ‘If it’s a non profit that’s perfectly fine’.

 

Storyboard

For this film I decided to produce my storyboard along side my script so I could illustrate scenes that will fit with my character’s monologue. While producing my storyboard I was studying my screenplay to see what order I had things go in. So the order of my story is told prior in my screenplay.

My storyboard is a total of twelve different scenes each different. Some of them are going to be filmed with the character in the scenes and others will be produced using found footage.

Storyboard page 1

Shot breakdown

Shot 1:

Shot one will act as the introduction. In this shot there will be various images shown of screen from both World Wars I/II. This shot will talk about these wars, the fatalities, outcomes and initial causes of these wars. This shot run alongside the soundtrack from the beginning but will also incorporate sounds from war such as planes flying by, bombs and gun shots. These are there to show what the character is thinking about.

Shot 2:

This shot is transitioned to when the character is talking about the war and he begins to mention about the invention of the nuclear bomb. This shot introduces the audience to the view of a nuclear bomb cloud which will be supported with exploding sound effects and sirens.

Shot 3:

The is an important shot as it’s the shot the audience finally get to see who is talking and what they look like. The character is introduced into the story in this shot. It will be a side view of the character. Their face won’t be visible because they’re wearing a hood. This shot is primarily a supportive shot to help transition from shot 2 to shot number 4.

Shot 4:

This shot is an above the head view of the character, looking down at them from above their head. Their face still not visible due to the hood they’re wearing. In this shot the character will begin talking about themselves and a little about what has happened including where they are and what they’re feeling at the time.

Shot 5:

Shot 5 is another shot of the character while they’re talking. In this shot the view of the character is direct and although they would be visible only their nose and mouth will be minimally visible due to the lack of light. The character’s upper face will be kept out of the frame. This is to add to the mystery of the character who they audience barely know.

Shot 6:

In this shot I will be using found footage of abandoned cities, buildings streets and more to assist in creating an image for the audience as they are listening to the character talk about how it all happened.

Storyboard page 2

Shot 7:

This shot is a visualisation of all the things the that character is mentioning as they think about ‘sound’. This shot is basically a visual thought of what the character is talking about and so will feature the things they’re talking about appearing as the character talks about each of them.

Shot 8:

This will be a wide shot of the character. They will be in the middle of the shot and will be shrouded in the darkness. The view will be directly in front of the character yet their face will still not be visible due to the dark room and the character’s hood. In this shot the character is talking about how they have realised their truth to what they thought was actually happening to them.

Shot 9:

This shot will be alongside the character’s voice as they describe their exploration through the country just surveying for any chance of hope.

Shot 10:

This shot will go alongside the character when they start mentioning about ‘seeing the light’. I decided to go with the sun rising from the clouds as it helps represent what the character is talking about in the sense of them previously only seeing darkness but now the light has begun to rise above it all.

Shot 11:

In this shot the character is remembering all the people they have lost: past friends, family members. Previously they had forgotten what they had looked like but as they’ve began to ‘see the light’ the character, Arren has began to remember them. Arren feels as if his family is ‘reaching out’ to him when in reality he is actually accepting his final moments peacefully.

Shot 12: This is the last shot which shows the character talking about being free. Within this scene the character will stop talking as their voice gets quieter and ending in silence. The scene will end with a fade transition which will lead to the credits.

 

Shooting Script

Producing a shooting script will be worth while and useful for production. Having no knowledge on shooting scripts I have read up on it and basically a shooting script is a version of the screenplay which is written in a certain/different way so that it can be used by the crew during production.

I have produced my own Shooting Script for my film below.

Shooting Script.JPG

 

Factual Programme

This document is to show exactly what I want the audience to be seen visually it’s not as detailed as the storyboard but it shows the viewer a better understanding of what the production will look like visually when it is completed. Each shot is explained with what is in the scene and how it will be shown Including the shot techniques/methods.

 

Risk Assessment

 

I created a Risk assessment for my location, this is to ensure that all potential dangers, risks and accidents are documented before production begins.

In the Risk Assessment below I have noted all the potential risks in my location and rank them between low to high of how dangerous they can be. Also another thing I did was put in place some instructions to ensure that they don’t happen during production.

 

